About the International Film Club

The arts, and particularly film, have a special ability to transport us to other places, times, and realities and give us insight into the ways and the whys of the world. The International Relations Council’s International Film Club explores international realities and global issues using films of the world and about the world. The group meets regularly to discuss a though-provoking film and the international topics, themes, and issues it raises. Subject-matter experts guide our experience, preparing us with questions and other context before viewing the film and leading the conversation during our monthly meeting. Films, with subtitles if needed, are readily available on common streaming services. Individuals of all backgrounds, interests, and perspectives are welcome – we just ask that you bring an open mind, thoughtful questions, and common courtesy. Registration is free but helps us with planning.

Have a recommendation for a film you’d like to see in the IFC lineup? Send us an email!

Upcoming Programs

All programs run from 7-8 p.m. Central Time on Zoom
Tuesday, March 8, 2022Queen (India)
Tuesday, March 22, 2022Machuca (Chile)
Tuesday, April 5, 2022Precious Knowledge (Mexico/U.S.)
Tuesday, April 19, 2022Don’t Think I’ve Forgotten (Cambodia)
Tuesday, May 3, 2022303 (Germany)
Tuesday, May 17, 2022Omar (Palestine)
Tuesday, May 31, 2022 The Edge of Democracy (Brazil)
Tuesday, June 14, 2022The Square (Egypt)
Tuesday, June 28, 2022The African Doctor (France/Congo)
Tuesday, July 12, 2022Like Stars on Earth (India)
Tuesday, July 26, 2022 I Learn America (U.S./Immigration)
Tuesday, August 9, 2022Shirkers (Singapore)
Tuesday, August 23, 2022A Fortunate Man (Denmark)
Tuesday, September 6, 2022A Silent Voice (Japan)
Tuesday, September 20, 2022Road to Roma (Mexico)
Tuesday, October 4, 2022Period. End of Sentence (India)
Tuesday, October 18, 2022I Lost My Body (France)
Tuesday, November 1, 2022The Death of Mr. Lazarescu (Romania)
Tuesday, November 29, 2022Pele (Brazil)
Tuesday, December 13, 2022Seventeen (Spain)

Past Programs

Tuesday, February 22, 2022 – The Linguists, with Sadia Akhter Aurna
Tuesday, February 8, 2022 – Happy As Lazzaro, with Silvia Giovanardi Byer
December 13, 2021 Chinese Take-Away, with Seungjoo Lee
November 22, 2021 Charlie’s Country, with Andrea Khan
November 8, 2021Newton, with Richa Joshi
September 28, 2021Take and Run, with KC FilmFest International
August 31, 2021The Last Mentsch, with the Midwest Holocaust Education Center
June 29, 2021Wadjda, with Shea Riggenbach and Mike Globan
July 27, 2021He Even Has Your Eyes, with Dr. Emmanuel Ngomsi
May 25, 2021My Happy Family, with Kriss Avery
April 29, 2021 You Will Die At Twenty, with Tivoli Cinema at the Nelson-Atkins
March 30, 2021And Breathe Normally, with Joy Stevenson
February 23, 2021Aquarius, with Luciano Tosta
January 26, 2021The Breadwinner, with Evan Verploegh
December 15, 2020What Will People Say, with Andrea Khan
November 30, 2020One Man and His Cow, with Alliance Francaise de Kansas City
November 2, 2020The Insult, with Dr. Michael Makara
October 8, 2020Timbuktu, with Philip Lesniewski and Emily Hurley
August 25, 2020Parasite, with KU Professor, Dr. Joo Ok Kim
July 28, 2020 Da 5 Bloods with Screenwriter, Director Kevin Willmott
June 30, 2020Roma, with KU Professor Tamara Falicov

Using Zoom

This event will be hosted through the free online meeting platform, Zoom. This link will bring you directly to the download page for Zoom. After downloading, please take a few minutes to familiarize yourself with its features.

Once you register for the event, you will receive an IRC email with the link to join the session. Simply click this link and grant permission for Zoom to open the link. You will then automatically join the event. You may access the room five minutes before the event is set to begin.

If you are interested in leading a discussion on an international film, please contact Evan at everploegh@irckc.org.