IRC Awardees

Distinguished Service Award for International Statesmanship

Past Awardees:

2014 Janet Napolitano Former U.S. Secretary of Homeland Security
 2013  Neal Conan  National Public Radio reporter, editor, and former senior host of Talk of the Nation
2012 Director David Petraeus Director of the Central Intelligence Agency
2011 Christopher Hill Former US Ambassador to Iraq and Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian & Pacific Affairs
2010 Reza Aslan Author, No god but God and political commentator
2009 C. Fred Bergsten Director, Peterson Institute for International Economics
2008 Strobe Talbott President, Brookings Institution
2007 Senator Chuck Hagel U.S. Senator, Nebraska
2006 Madeleine Albright Former Secretary of State
2005 Senator John Danforth Former U.S. Senator, Missouri; former Ambassador to the United Nations
2004 Senator Sam Brownback U.S. Senator, Kansas
2003 Robert M. Gates, Ph.D President, Texas A&M University; former Director of Central Intelligence Agency
2002 Dan Glickman Head, Institute of Politics, John F. Kennedy School of Government; former Secretary of Agriculture; former Congressman
2001 Alan N. Mulally President and CEO, Boeing Commercial Airplanes
2000 Kenton W. Keith Senior Vice President and Director, Programming Division, Meridian International Center
1999 Stephen G. Butler Chairman and CEO, KPMG Peat Marwick, LLP
1998 Marshall Loeb Managing Editor, Fortune and Money
1997 James B. Steele Senior Writer-at-large, Time, Inc.
1996 Byron Calame Deputy Managing Editor, The Wall Street Journal
1995 Delano E. Lewis President and CEO, National Public Radio
1994 Roger Morris, Ph.D Author, syndicated columnist, White House and National Security staff for Presidents Nixon and Johnson
1993 Robert J. Eaton Chairman and CEO, Chrysler Corporation
1992 Robert F. Ellsworth Chairman, Council for the International Institute for Strategic Studies; former Deputy Secretary of Defense
1991 John McManus Editor-in-chief, Time-Warner, Inc.
1990 Bill Kurtis Executive Producer, The New Explorers; former co-anchor, CBS news
1989 Charles H. Price II Former Ambassador to the Kingdom of Belgium, United Kingdom, and Northern Ireland
1988 William Atkins McWhirter Senior Correspondant, Time Magazine
1987 Senator Nancy Landon Kassebaum U.S. Senator, Kansas
1987 Senator Thomas F. Eagleton Former U.S. Senator, Missouri
1986 Jim Lehrer Host, Lehrer Newshour
1985 U. Alexis Johnson Former Undersecretary of State for Political Affairs
1984 William G. Hyland Editor, Foreign Affairs; former Deputy Assistant to the President for International Security Affairs

Award for Academic Leadership


2009 Stowers Institute William Neaves, President & CEO, accepting
2008 KU Confucius Institute Sheree Willis, accepting
2007 Richard Derman, M.D., M.P.H. Associate Dean for Women's Health at UMKC
2006 Beverly Byers-Pevitts President, Park University
2003 Paul and Colleen Nance Founders, Nance Museum and Library of Middle Eastern Art
2002 Gary Armstrong, Ph.D. Chair, Department of Political Science, William Jewell College
2001 Hal Jehle Secondary Resource Specialist, Shawnee Mission School District
2000 Maria Carlson, Ph.D. Director, Center for Russian and East European Studies, The University of Kansas
1999 KCPT Public Television 19 William T. Reed, accepting
1998 John E. Cleek, Ph.D. Director, Center for International Business, Bloch School of Business and Public Administration, UMKC
1997 The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art Marc F. Wilson, accepting
1996 Terry Rodenberg, Ed.D. Director, International Program, Central Missouri State University
1995 Janet R. Baird, Ph.D. Program Administrator, Southeast Magnet High School for International Studies
1994 George Woodyard, Ph.D. Dean of International Studies, The University of Kansas
1993 Carolyn J. Kadel Director of International Education, Johnson County Community College
1992 Paul A. Garcia, Ph.D. Instructional Specialist for Language and International Studies, Kansas City Missouri School District
1991 Henry A. Mitchell Professor and Associate Vice Chancellor, Academic and International Affairs, UMKC
1990 Miyo Wagner Visiting Instructor of Japanese Language, Rockhurst College
1989 E. Grey Dimond, M.D. Provost Emeritus, Health Sciences, UMKC
1987 Ed Chasteen Professor of Sociology and Anthropology, William Jewell College
1986 David Wolfe Director, Social Studies, Shawnee Mission School District
1985 Harry L. Klut Social studies teacher, Paseo High School, Kansas City School District
1984 Joyce Cox Social studies teacher, Center High School, Center School District

Award for Contributions to International Commerce and/or the Community


2014 Julián Zugazagoitia
President & CEO, Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
 2013  R. Crosby Kemper III  Executive Director of the Kansas City Public Library
2012 Sporting Kansas City Greg Cotton, Chief of Staff, accepting
2011 Consul Jacob Prado Consul General of Mexico at Kansas City
2010 Seaboard Corporation Robert Steer, Senior Vice President & CFO, accepting
2009 Danny O'Neill President & Owner, The Roasterie
2008 Len Rodman President, Chairman, and CEO, Black & Veatch
2004 Consul General Takao Shibata Consul General of Japan at Kansas City
2004 Benny Lee Chairman and CEO, Top Innovations, Inc.
2003 Dr. Min H. Kao President and CEO, Garmin International; Co-founder and co-chairman, Garmin Corporation
2002 Michael R. Haverty Chairman, President and CEO, Kansas City Southern Industries
2001 Lillian Gonzalez Pardo, M.D. Medical Director, TEVA Neuroscience; Clinical Professor of Pediatrics and Neurology, KU Medical Center; President, Filipino Cultural Center Foundation
2000 Dr. Richard W. Harriman Founder and Director, Harriman Arts Program, William Jewell College
1999 Jeffrey W. Colyer Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery Center
1998 John P. McMeel Chairman, Andrews McMeel Universal
1997 Stanley H. Durwood Chairman and CEO, AMC Entertainment, Inc.
1996 Anne and Norman Burkart President and Director, Language Link
1995 William D. Chapman President, Butler International
1994 Lawrence D. Starr President and CEO, Koch Supplies, Inc.
1993 Gary B. Morsch, M.D. Founder and Chairman, Heart to Heart International, Inc.
1992 Morton I. Sosland Chairman, Sosland Publishing Co.
1991 Robert A. Cushman President, ARMCO Worldwide Grinding Systems; Vice President, ARMCO Inc.
1990 James L. Rainey President and CEO, Farmland Industries
1989 William T. Esrey President and CEO, United Telecom and Sprint
1988 John T. Pierson, Jr. President, PRECO Industries
1987 Heinz K. Wehner Group Vice President and General Manager, Agricultural Chemical Division, Mobay Corp.
1986 Allen M. Acheson President, Black & Veatch International
1985 Stanley A. Hamilton President, Hallmark International; Honorary British Consul
1985 James E. Burke Late Honorary Consul of Japan
1984 Rod Turnbull Director of Public Affairs, Kansas City Board of Trade

Special Awards


1999 Michael B. Wood Board of Directors, Past President of IRC
1995 James E. Kelly Board of Directors, Past President of IRC

Mike Wood Presidential Citation of Merit


2012 Lowell Jacobsen IRC Board of Directors
2011 Stanley S. Pearson Former IRC Board of Directors
2010 John Phillips IRC Board of Directors