Global Honors Evening
Share |

About the Global Honors Evening
Each year since the early 1980s, the IRC has recognized individuals and organizations for contributions to foreign policy and global affairs, international commerce, or the Kansas City community. In 2018, we were pleased once again to celebrate a range of individuals and groups that make Kansas City a shining global community. The celebration included cocktails, hors d’oeuvres and dessert, live entertainment, special recognitions, and the chance to meet some of Kansas City's most notable and beloved global citizens.

The 2019 Global Honors Evening will be held on Thursday, November 21,
at the Little Theatre at the Kansas City Convention Center.

Individual tickets will go on sale on September 1, but sponsorships are available now.

2019 Awardees

Distinguished Service Award for International Statesmanship – Ambassador Deborah Birx, M.D.
Coordinator of the United States Government Activities to Combat HIV/AIDS and U.S. Special Representative for Global Health Diplomacy

Past Awardees
Awards have been presented in a variety of categories since 1984:

  • The IRC has been honored to confer the Distinguished Service Award for International Statesmanship on dignitaries and thought leaders who have made outstanding contributions in international commerce, diplomacy, and education, including Richard Myers (2017), Janet Napolitano (2014), Madeleine Albright (2006), John Danforth (2005), Robert M. Gates (2003), Alan Mulally (2001), Robert J. Eaton (1993), and William G. Hyland (1984).
  • The Award for Contributions to the Community is given to local individuals, organizations, or companies who have contributed to economic growth in the area and have shown exemplary service to their community. Past recipients have included the Consular Corps of Greater Kansas City (2017), Julián Zugazagoitia (2014), R. Crosby Kemper III (2013), Sporting Kansas City (2012), Seaboard Corporation (2010), and John P. McMeel (1998). 
  •  The Award for Academic Leadership is given to local individuals or educational institutions that contribute to global education in the Midwest. Past recipients have included the University of Missouri–Kansas City (2017), the Stowers Institute (2009), the KU Confucius Institute (2008), KCPT Public Television (1999), and Dr. E. Grey Dimond (1989).

Please click here to learn more about past awardees.