Eliot S. Berkley Lecturers

The Eliot S. Berkley Lecture was initiated in 1996.  It is funded by the Eliot S. Berkley Endowment which was established in 1994 by the International Relations Council membership and the community to honor Dr. Berkley's 40 years of service as IRC's Founding Executive Director.  The Eliot S. Berkley Endowment brings to the area persons highly knowledgeable about foreign policy and international affairs.  The lecture is held in cooperation with the University of Kansas.

Eliot S. Berkley Lecturers

2013 Daniel Markey
Senior Fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations, author of No Exit from Pakistan

2012 Charles A. Kupchan
Senior Fellow at the Council on Foreign Relations, author, and professor at Georgetown University

2011 Gerald Seib
Washington Bureau Chief of the Wall Street Journal

2010 George Friedman
Founder and CEO of STRATFOR

2009 Allison Stanger
Russell Leng Professor of International Politics and Economics and Director of the Rohatyn Center for International Affairs at Middlebury College

2008 James M. Goldgeier
Whitney Shepardson Senior Fellow for Transatlantic Relations at the Council on Foreign Relations

2007 Walter Russell Mead
Henry A. Kissinger Senior Fellow for U.S. foreign policy, Council on Foreign Relations

2006 Dr. George Rupp
President and CEO, International Rescue Committee

2005  The Honorable Thomas R. Pickering
Former U.S. Ambassador to Jordan, Nigeria, El Salvador, Israel, United Nations, India, Russia

2004  The Honorable Lawrence J. Korb
Senior Fellow, American Progress and Senior Advisor, Center for Defense Information

2003  James Fallows
National Correspondant, Atlantic Monthly

2002  The Honorable Marc Grossman
Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs

2001  The Honorable Princeton N. Lyman
Former U.S. ambassador to South Africa and Nigeria and former Assistant Secretary of State for International Organization Affairs

2000  The Honorable Frank G. Wisner
Vice Chairman, American International Group

1999  Hodding Carter III
Journalist, Assistant Secretary of State for Carter Administration

1998  Admiral William J. Crowe, Jr.
Former Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, former U.S. ambassador to the United Kingdom

1997  "Mid-Point in the Legacy" 
Conference and Celebration of the
50th Anniversary of the Marshall Plan

1996  The Honorable Jack Matlock, Jr.
Former U.S. ambassador to Czechoslovakia and the Soviet Union

Sign In


The Opportunities and Challenges of Chinese Investment in the U.S.: A Public Forum

IRC Networking Hour

Global Experience: The Fulbright Program

Decisions: U.S. Global Engagement & the Military

IRC Book Club: The Limits of Soft Power and the Necessity of Military Force

Latest News