Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
IRC Awardees

Distinguished Service Award for International Statesmanship


2013Neal ConanNational Public Radio reporter, editor, and former senior host of Talk of the Nation
2012Director David PetraeusDirector of the Central Intelligence Agency
2011Christopher HillFormer US Ambassador to Iraq and Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian & Pacific Affairs
2010Reza AslanAuthor, No god but God and political commentator
2009C. Fred BergstenDirector, Peterson Institute for International Economics
2008Strobe TalbottPresident, Brookings Institution
2007Senator Chuck HagelU.S. Senator, Nebraska
2006Madeleine AlbrightFormer Secretary of State
2005Senator John DanforthFormer U.S. Senator, Missouri; former Ambassador to the United Nations
2004Senator Sam BrownbackU.S. Senator, Kansas
2003Robert M. Gates, Ph.DPresident, Texas A&M University; former Director of Central Intelligence Agency
2002Dan GlickmanHead, Institute of Politics, John F. Kennedy School of Government; former Secretary of Agriculture; former Congressman
2001Alan N. MulallyPresident and CEO, Boeing Commercial Airplanes
2000Kenton W. KeithSenior Vice President and Director, Programming Division, Meridian International Center
1999Stephen G. ButlerChairman and CEO, KPMG Peat Marwick, LLP
1998Marshall LoebManaging Editor, Fortune and Money
1997James B. SteeleSenior Writer-at-large, Time, Inc.
1996Byron CalameDeputy Managing Editor, The Wall Street Journal
1995Delano E. LewisPresident and CEO, National Public Radio
1994Roger Morris, Ph.DAuthor, syndicated columnist, White House and National Security staff for Presidents Nixon and Johnson
1993Robert J. EatonChairman and CEO, Chrysler Corporation
1992Robert F. EllsworthChairman, Council for the International Institute for Strategic Studies; former Deputy Secretary of Defense
1991John McManusEditor-in-chief, Time-Warner, Inc.
1990Bill KurtisExecutive Producer, The New Explorers; former co-anchor, CBS news
1989Charles H. Price IIFormer Ambassador to the Kingdom of Belgium, United Kingdom, and Northern Ireland
1988William Atkins McWhirterSenior Correspondant, Time Magazine
1987Senator Nancy Landon KassebaumU.S. Senator, Kansas
1987Senator Thomas F. EagletonFormer U.S. Senator, Missouri
1986Jim LehrerHost, Lehrer Newshour
1985U. Alexis JohnsonFormer Undersecretary of State for Political Affairs
1984William G. HylandEditor, Foreign Affairs; former Deputy Assistant to the President for International Security Affairs

Award for Academic Leadership


2009Stowers InstituteWilliam Neaves, President & CEO, accepting
2008KU Confucius InstituteSheri Willis, accepting
2007Richard Derman, M.D., M.P.H.Associate Dean for Women's Health at UMKC
2006Beverly Byers-PevittsPresident, Park University
2003Paul and Colleen NanceFounders, Nance Museum and Library of Middle Eastern Art
2002Gary Armstrong, Ph.D.Chair, Department of Political Science, William Jewell College
2001Hal JehleSecondary Resource Specialist, Shawnee Mission School District
2000Maria Carlson, Ph.D.Director, Center for Russian and East European Studies, The University of Kansas
1999KCPT Public Television 19William T. Reed, accepting
1998John E. Cleek, Ph.D.Director, Center for International Business, Bloch School of Business and Public Administration, UMKC
1997The Nelson-Atkins Museum of ArtMarc F. Wilson, accepting
1996Terry Rodenberg, Ed.D.Director, International Program, Central Missouri State University
1995Janet R. Baird, Ph.D.Program Administrator, Southeast Magnet High School for International Studies
1994George Woodyard, Ph.D.Dean of International Studies, The University of Kansas
1993Carolyn J. KadelDirector of International Education, Johnson County Community College
1992Paul A. Garcia, Ph.D.Instructional Specialist for Language and International Studies, Kansas City Missouri School District
1991Henry A. MitchellProfessor and Associate Vice Chancellor, Academic and International Affairs, UMKC
1990Miyo WagnerVisiting Instructor of Japanese Language, Rockhurst College
1989E. Grey Dimond, M.D.Provost Emeritus, Health Sciences, UMKC
1987Ed ChasteenProfessor of Sociology and Anthropology, William Jewell College
1986David WolfeDirector, Social Studies, Shawnee Mission School District
1985Harry L. KlutSocial studies teacher, Paseo High School, Kansas City School District
1984Joyce CoxSocial studies teacher, Center High School, Center School District

Award for Contributions to International Commerce and/or Community Service


2013R. Crosby Kemper IIIExecutive Director of the Kansas City Public Library
2012Sporting Kansas CityGreg Cotton, Chief of Staff, accepting
2011Consul Jacob PradoConsul General of Mexico at Kansas City
2010Seaboard CorporationRobert Steer, Senior Vice President & CFO, accepting
2009Danny O'NeillPresident & Owner, The Roasterie
2008Len RodmanPresident, Chairman, and CEO, Black & Veatch
2004Consul General Takao ShibataConsul General of Japan at Kansas City
2004Benny LeeChairman and CEO, Top Innovations, Inc.
2003Dr. Min H. KaoPresident and CEO, Garmin International; Co-founder and co-chairman, Garmin Corporation
2002Michael R. HavertyChairman, President and CEO, Kansas City Southern Industries
2001Lillian Gonzalez Pardo, M.D.Medical Director, TEVA Neuroscience; Clinical Professor of Pediatrics and Neurology, KU Medical Center; President, Filipino Cultural Center Foundation
2000Dr. Richard W. HarrimanFounder and Director, Harriman Arts Program, William Jewell College
1999Jeffrey W. ColyerPlastic and Reconstructive Surgery Center
1998John P. McMeelChairman, Andrews McMeel Universal
1997Stanley H. DurwoodChairman and CEO, AMC Entertainment, Inc.
1996Anne and Norman BurkartPresident and Director, Language Link
1995William D. ChapmanPresident, Butler International
1994Lawrence D. StarrPresident and CEO, Koch Supplies, Inc.
1993Gary B. Morsch, M.D.Founder and Chairman, Heart to Heart International, Inc.
1992Morton I. SoslandChairman, Sosland Publishing Co.
1991Robert A. CushmanPresident, ARMCO Worldwide Grinding Systems; Vice President, ARMCO Inc.
1990James L. RaineyPresident and CEO, Farmland Industries
1989William T. EsreyPresident and CEO, United Telecom and Sprint
1988John T. Pierson, Jr.President, PRECO Industries
1987Heinz K. WehnerGroup Vice President and General Manager, Agricultural Chemical Division, Mobay Corp.
1986Allen M. AchesonPresident, Black & Veatch International
1985Stanley A. HamiltonPresident, Hallmark International; Honorary British Consul
1985James E. BurkeLate Honorary Consul of Japan
1984Rod TurnbullDirector of Public Affairs, Kansas City Board of Trade

Special Awards


1999Michael B. WoodBoard of Directors, Past President of IRC
1995James E. KellyBoard of Directors, Past President of IRC

Mike Wood Presidential Citation of Merit


2012Lowell JacobsenIRC Board of Directors
2011Stanley S. PearsonFormer IRC Board of Directors
2010John PhillipsIRC Board of Directors


Community Search
Sign In

Forgot your password?

Haven't registered yet?